the organizer comes clean: magazine amnesty

xmagazinesI love to read.

I read books, newspapers, magazines, the backs of cereal boxes. Sometimes my reading material gets out of control, though, and I have to let go of things without reading them.

I have a rule about newspaper, for example. Like it or not, if I haven’t read the previous day’s newspaper, it goes in the recycle bin when the new one comes in the house. I know that newspaper clutter is something I don’t want to live with, so I don’t let them accumulate.

Start with the clutter that annoys you most

Last night I culled 10 magazines from the towering pile on my nightstand. Although I was disappointed that I wasn’t going to read them, I was tired of seeing that stack every day. I know I’m not going to read all the back issues before new ones start flooding in, so it was time to let them go. I also know that I not a failure because I haven’t read those magazines. In fact, it was a bit of a relief to see the magazine mountain leveled.

The question most people ask about organizing is “Where do I start?”

You can start on the easiest project or the most difficult, but my favorite place to start is the one that’s annoying you the most.

Clearing the magazines was not a big project, but the impact was huge.

Is there a small project you can finish this week so you feel motivated about creating an organized and productive year?

Marcie Lovett, Organized by Marcie
Find more organizing and productivity tips on twitter, facebook and pinterest

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to the organizer comes clean: magazine amnesty

  1. Pingback: Getting Organized in January | downsizing the home

Leave a comment