in the mood

Or not.

cloud-by-supertrooper

photo by stormtrooper

Sometimes you’re just not in the mood to declutter. Or do laundry. Or put away groceries. Or finish a report.

Everybody has things they HAVE TO do and things they WANT TO do. Sometimes they coincide.

I have to do laundry because I want to wear clean clothes. I could pay someone to do laundry for me or I could buy more clothes, but neither of those is appealing to me.

Sometimes I have to force myself to do things I don’t want to do (see above re: laundry, groceries, report) and I find all kinds of things to do instead.

Add spammy phone numbers to reject list on my phone? Check! (Justification: It’s so satisfying not to get those robocalls)

Move items on kitchen counter? Check! (Justification: I don’t have to rearrange things during meal prep)

Change categories to tags on the blog? Check! (Justification: Readers can find what they’re for more quickly)

Look for things I don’t use so I can donate them? (Wait, do I really need to justify this one?)

Clearly, I’m avoiding something more important when I start to do these things.

I’m not watching television or searching facebook, but I am procrastinating. It’s not even what I call “productive procrastination,” because it’s not substituting one important task for another. (You can read more about productive procrastination on page 102 in The Clutter Book: When You Can’t Let Go)

One method that works to get me back on track is to make a deal that I only have to work on the task for a short time. It’s also helpful to ensure that you’re not tired, hungry, irritable or distracted before you commit to a project. That way, you’re more likely to be successful.

What do you do to motivate yourself when you’re not in the mood to work on something? Leave a reply, below.

Marcie Lovett, Organized by Marcie
Find more organizing and productivity tips on twitter, facebook and pinterest

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

