what’s in your pantry?

Bag of GroceriesPeriodically, I get carried away at the grocery store. It doesn’t happen often, but sometimes I buy more than I intended and then I have to figure out where to put it.

I have a small pantry in the kitchen where I keep “current” food that’s being eaten now, along with baking supplies.

In the basement is the “backup” pantry with duplicates of things I don’t want to run out of – peanut butter, tuna, coffee, beans, pasta, cereal, crackers and such. I usually keep one or two backups, depending upon how quickly it gets used.

I don’t want to run to the grocery store for one thing that I need immediately, so when I see that something is running low, I put it on the list and buy it when it goes on sale. This system works well for me and I rarely run out of staple items.

Because I have a limited amount of space that I dedicate to food storage, it doesn’t get out of control. Knowing that Diet Coke and ketchup, for example, go on sale regularly keeps me from buying too much, too.

If you have a large family, you might have a larger backup supply. If you don’t use many packaged foods, you might not need a backup at all.

Do you keep track of what’s in your pantry? Do you store more than food in it?

Marcie Lovett, Organized by Marcie
Find more organizing and productivity tips on twitter, facebook and pinterest

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

