why are we all so busy?

Years ago, when I started working in the corporate world, my boss would ask, “What are you doing?” and I would say, “Nothing.” I figured if he had something for me to do, it didn’t matter what I was doing.

After a few months, I realized that it probably didn’t sound good to say I wasn’t busy, so instead of saying “Nothing,” I started to say, “Nothing that can’t be interrupted.” Even when I wasn’t doing anything important, I wanted him to think that I had plenty of work to accomplish.

Whether it’s the appearance of looking occupied with work or actually having too much to do, everyone is busy these days. Sometimes people will tell you they’re crazy busy. (I have to admit, I have been guilty of saying it, too.)

Lillian Cunningham recently interviewed Brené Brown, University of Houston professor and vulnerability researcher about her new book,  Daring Greatly.

Among other things, they talk about “the burden of not getting enough done.” Does that remind you of anyone you know?

When you’re unable to let go of technology and push yourself harder and harder, you stop experiencing life as it happens around you.

This quote, from Cunningham’s article, says it all:

Instead of feeling pride or recognition, what everyone is instead made to feel is, “Thank God, I can get to the next thing on my list.

Dr. Brown offers actions that managers can take to assure that their staff aren’t put in the position of working nonstop. Employees have to take responsibility for not allowing work to take over their lives, too.

So many people are afraid that they will lose their jobs if they don’t “do more with less.” Instead, think about doing the best you can within the limits of your workday and enjoying your time off.

Are you beyond busy? Can you find a way to turn off the electronic distractions and just be?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

