the end is near

For some reason, once I turn the calendar to September, I feel that time speeds up.  I can see the end of the year coming quickly and the last few months pass in a blur. 

Realistically, I know that the final four months of the year don’t go by faster than any of the other months; however, autumn always seems to catch me unprepared. All of a sudden, it’s getting dark earlier, the air smells different and I can open the windows again.  Before I know it, leaves are covering the ground and I’m wearing a sweater. 

September will always signify back-to-school for me, a fresh start.  The Jewish new year, Rosh Hashanah, comes around this time of year, too, and it also makes me think about endings and beginnings; more so than I do on December 31st.

As the end of the year gets close, there are things to consider: business plans to execute, activities to pursue, relationships to nurture. All of these things take time and energy.  Your job is to decide which tasks are important enough to invest in and which you can let go.

I wish you a happy new year, filled with good health and good times.  Even if you don’t celebrate Rosh Hashanah, the end of the year is a good time to examine your priorities and make sure you’re concentrating your efforts on the things and people you value most.

What are you thinking about this time of year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

