groundhog day, again

Tomorrow is Groundhog Day, not a holiday that has any particular meaning to me. Instead, I tend to think of the Bill Murray movie, where every day is a repeat of the one before.

What are some things you can do to get out of your rut when you feel that way? If you want things to be different, you have to make the effort to look at your time differently.

Do you want to have more fun? Find things you want to do and put them on your calendar. Commit to doing those things instead of staying late at the office.

Do you want to spend less time running errands? Instead of waiting until you run out of things you use regularly (toothpaste, light bulbs, spaghetti, etc.), have one in reserve. Keep a list of things you need to do while you’re already out so you don’t have to make multiple trips.

Do you want to reduce the amount of paper you handle? Remove your name from mailing lists, pay bills electronically, decide how long you will keep papers and toss them when you’re finished with them.

One of the things that helps me is knowing what I need to do, when I need to do it. I keep track of tasks in my electronic calendar and set alarms for things I need to remember to do at particular times. I appreciate having the freedom to make my own schedule; however, that means I am accountable only to myself for using my time well.

My “Groundhog Day” moment: I have to write another [blog post, tip of the month, newsletter, guest post] and I just can’t think of anything to write about. I finally agreed to create an editorial calendar for 2012. Now I have an outline for what I’ll be writing about each month for the next year. I didn’t think I could come up with a whole year’s worth of material, then I realized that I don’t have to write everything now, I just need to focus on the framework.

It’s only been a few weeks, but I feel liberated. Now I understand why so many writers suggest doing it. The pressure to be creative is gone because I don’t have to be spontaneous. And, when I get a sudden, burning desire to write about something, I can make it fit into the framework or I can dump the plan and be impetuous. It’s okay.

How do you get out of your “Groundhog Day” funk?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

