NaNoWriMo update

Well, November is over and so is National Novel Writing Month. Although I have completed a non-fiction book, I am finding that it’s much harder to write fiction.

With all the reading I do, I thought it would come more naturally, but I had a tough time trying to write a novel in 30 days. The characters were’nt likeable, the dialogue was stilted and scene transitions didn’t happen naturally.

Keeping in mind the fact that the novel didn’t have to be good helped a lot, because it isn’t. Going through the exercise was revealing; I don’t know if writing a novel really is something I want to do. As I say to my clients: You can’t do everything, but you can do the things that are important to you.

At this time of year you may be inundated with activities. Think about what is truly important to you and make time to do those things before you are overwhelmed by other stuff.  Time goes by too quickly to spend it on things you don’t value.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo update

  1. Lelah says:

    Great post on NaNoWriMo! I participated for the fourth time this year, and while I didn’t finish, I always feel good knowing I participated, wrote a lot and made time for writing. You make a good point: you have to make time to do things are most important to you. The time will not magically appear.

Leave a Reply

