making time for marketing

Everything I’ve read has said that marketing your book is just as much (or more) work as the actual writing. I didn’t believe it.

Once I got serious about finishing the book, I scheduled time to write every day. I couldn’t imagine I would have to be as disciplined about marketing. Although I knew the book wasn’t going to sell itself, I didn’t realize I would have to spend so much time getting the word out.

I’ve arranged to sell it after workshops, emailed more than 400 people, blogged, tweeted, facebooked and networked. I even paid attention to all the experts and started marketing before the book was finished. I’ve added pages to this blog and I’m trying something that’s a little unusual, too. You can earn a chance to win a free copy of my book.  Visit freado to get the details.

I’m actually enjoying a lot of the process, which was another surprise. Being a self-published author means that I accept the responsibility for making my book a success. As I say in my book, when you create a goal, you steer yourself in the direction to accomplish it. My goal is to sell 1000 books by the end of the year. Stick with me and see if I can do it.

Let me know what you think about my plan. Is it too ambitious? Not impressive enough?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to making time for marketing

  1. Billie Maverick says:

    Sounds like a plan. I too am starting my book marketing agenda and yes, it seems to be a bit more extreme than writing a book! But a goal is a goal. It’s never too big or too small. It’s only how you see it. Break it down in pieces and start knawing away! Might I adopt your 1000 copies to sell for this year as well? You sound a bit farther than me in marketing, but hey, the number of copies sound doable.

  2. Thanks for the support!

    I read a great post on Stephanie Barko’s Web site yesterday. She interviewed Tweed Scott, who said this, “…an author will spend 6% of his time writing the book and 94% of his time marketing it.”

    Who knew?

    You can read the post here http://stephaniebarko.com/2011/08/11/tweed-scott

    Let’s do a 1000 Book Challenge! My new mission: book fairs. I’m branching out from the Washington DC/Baltimore area and looking for small/alternative venues. Anyone have suggestions?

  3. Don’t forget to use your own city newspapers to promote your work. They should have a spot to review books. Find that reporter and give them an earfull about your book.

  4. You’re right, Billie. I had an interview with the local paper that will run next week. I’ll include a link after it publishes.

Leave a Reply

