getting it just right

I saw this blog post and immediately felt that the blogger captured my thoughts:

I’m self-published myself and I know how hard it is to go through the book over and over and over again until you’re sick and tired of the book you once loved, but it’s worth it. It’s my reputation, my author’s name out there and I want the book to be the best it can get.

I counsel my clients not to work for perfection, just excellence, and that was how I felt about releasing my book. I wasn’t ready to let it go out in the world without making sure it represented the best I had to offer.  Even though it took longer than I wanted, I’m glad I read through the proofs and made corrections until I was satisfied I had the best product to offer readers.

How have you dealt with the editing process? Did you publish your book before it was ready or did you labor over the details until they were right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to getting it just right

  1. Billie Maverick says:

    I find myself editing once again as I start marketing my book. But after this last editing, I’m sending my baby out.

  2. At some point, you just have to let it go. Let us know the title of the book and where we can find it.

Leave a Reply

