back on track

I have been losing sleep over the editing process for the last two weeks. My original editor took on a big job and wasn’t able to work with me. I contacted everyone I could think of, searching for another editor. After some dead ends, networking finally paid off. I mentioned my search to someone who referred me to another editor and I believe we’ll be ready to go to print next week.

I couldn’t figure out why I was so agitated. It’s not like I have a due date for the book. After all, I have already missed two deadlines that I set for the publishing date. I finally realized that this time felt different because I had done what I needed to and I had to wait for someone else to take the next step, which has never been one of my strengths.

I beat myself up a little over not having the book ready earlier this year, but now I have to terms with it. It’s just a book. It’s my book, but really, it’s just a book. The world can wait a few more weeks for it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.